The 60-member Tacoma Symphony Chorus is comprised of talented volunteer singers from throughout the community who are chosen by audition.  Founded in 1998, the TSO Chorus performs in concert with the TSO and as a solo ensemble annually.   Chorus Director  Geoffrey Paul Boers is Director of Choral Activities at the University of Washington and teaches choral conducting and pedagogy.  The Chorus appears with the TSO during its annual Sounds of the Season and Handel's Messiah performances and presents solo and a capella concerts throughout the region.

During the past decade Geoffrey Paul Boers has emerged as one of this region’s leading choral conductors and teachers. His choirs have performed at national and regional conventions of choral conductors and music educators, earning high praise for their expressiveness and technical mastery. Boers is in constant demand as a conductor, clinician, and workshop leader, both nationally and internationally.

Boers is Director of Choral Activities at the University of Washington in Seattle, where he conducts the UW Chamber Singers, a choir of graduate and advanced singers. He also teaches graduate choral conducting and choral pedagogy, and serves as faculty advisor to over twenty active graduate students. He is the recipient of the University of Washington’s prestigious Royalty Research Foundation Grant, which allowed him to travel to the Baltic region this past summer to begin the development of a UW Baltic Choral Music Library, the first of its kind in the United States.

In addition to his position at the UW, Boers is the chorus director of the Tacoma Symphony Orchestra and sings professionally as a tenor and as a countertenor, as a featured soloist with many groups around the United States.


Sibyl Adams

Carolyn Flynn

Anna Hagen

Amanda Hansel

Karen Irwin

Alicia Johnson

Jennifer Kinney

Denise Lees

Melissa McMillan

Mary Ovrebo

Karen Patjens

Kayleigh Shaffer

Julie Whalen


Andy Clare

Bryan Conger

Justin Ferris

Ben Keller

Charles Koonce

Evin Lambert

Bryan Miles

Jim Moller

Steve Moon

Jim Morgan

David Olson

Tom Oswald

Jeremy Rivera

Chris Trujillo


Rebecca Anderson

Karen Barrows

LeeAnne Campos

Wendy Cushner

Katie Elshire

Claudia Finseth

Liz Fortenberry

Jennifer Guadnola

Kelsey Hamm

Linda Kammerer

Coni Liljengren

Amanda Mackey

Kerstin Shaffer

Sharon Stritzel

Cara Swenson

Jill Westwood


Bernard Crouse

Scott Donaldson

Kent Edmonds

Kevin Hovey

J. Edmund Hughes

Dale Kraus

Richard Nace

Kevin Peterson

Kenneth Schwartz

Bryan Ross Vallery-Watson

David Wimett